Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


At 50, Phil Mickelson becomes oldest player to win PGA Championship

American golfer Phil Mickelson. Photo: @PhilMickels/Twitter

Palm Beach Gardens (Florida), May 24 (MNN) American golfer Phil Mickelson – at the age of 50 — became the oldest major winner of all time in the 161 years of major championship during the PGA Championship at Kiawah Island on Sunday.

Mickelson grinded out in the 103rd PGA Championship’s final-round one-over par 73 to finish 72 holes on six-under 282 with South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen, the 2010 British Open champion, and American Brooks Koepka, a four-time major winner, sharing second on 284.

The 50-year-old left-hander was mobbed by euphoric fans after he captured his sixth major PGA Championship by two strokes.

The age-defying Phil Mickelson took the 2.1 million dollar (1.7 million euro) top prize with an epic victory for the ages, erasing the major age win mark set by American Julius Boros when he captured the 1968 PGA Championship at age 48.

Julius Boros for 53 years held the distinction of golf’s oldest major champion.

It was the first major victory for Mickelson since the 2010 Masters and 2013 British Open.

Phil Mickelson became the first player in PGA Tour history to win tournaments 30 years apart.

The first of his 45 titles were in 1991 when he was still a junior at Arizona State.

Mickelson became the 10th player to win majors in three decades, an elite list that starts with Harry Vardon and was most recently achieved by Tiger Woods.

Woods, who won the Masters in 2019 at age 43 after four back surgeries, tweeted “Truly inspirational to see @PhilMickelson do it again at 50 years of age. Congrats!!!!!!!”

It was the 45th career US PGA Tour triumph, his first since 2019 at Pebble Beach.

Oldest major golf winners (men’s)

Phil Mickelson: 2021 PGA Championship – 50 years, 11 months, 7 days

Julius Boros: 1968 PGA Championship – 48 years, 4 months, 18 days

Tom Morris Sr.: 1867 British Open – 46 years, 3 months, 10 days

Jack Nicklaus: 1986 Masters – 46 years, 2 months, 23 days

Jerry Barber: 1961 PGA Championship – 45 years, 3 months, 6 days

Hale Irwin: 1990 U.S. Open – 45 years, 14 months

Lee Trevino: 1984 PGA Championship – 44 years, 8 months, 18 days

Roberto De Vicenzo: 1967 British Open – 44 years, 3 months, 1 day

Harry Vardon: 1914 British Open – 44 years, 1 month, 10 days

Raymond Floyd: 1986 U.S. Open – 43 years, 9 months, 11 days

Ted Ray: 1920 U.S. Open – 43 years, 4 months, 16 days

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.