Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


India wrap up first innings at 217 in ICC WTC final, NZ reply with 101/2

Photo: ICC

Southampton, June 20 (MNN) India scored 217 in their first innings, adding 65 runs in the first session of day three to their overnight score of 146 for three but lost four wickets in the process, in the ICC WTC final against New Zealand which dominated the session.

Their innings finally wrapped up at a modest 217 as Kyle Jamieson proved the wrecker-in-chief with a five-wicket haul for 31 runs. Trent Boult and Neil Wagner bagged two wickets each. Tim Southee got one.

India skipper Virat Kohli didn’t add to his overnight score of 44 and was caught plumb in front by Jamieson.

Rishabh Pant showed some restrain at the beginning but could not hold himself from flashing at a wide one and edged it to Tom Latham at slip.

Rahane fell to the short ball trap set by Wagner one run short of what would have been a gritty half-century. Ashwin came out with some intent but fell in the bid to get some quick runs.

New Zealand were on the money from ball one on Sunday and didn’t get an inch to Indian batsmen.

Jamieson was the pick of the bowlers, picking up priced scalps of Kohli and Pant.

With Jadeja still out there in the middle, India hoped he took the total to 250, which would be a par score in these conditions.

India were 211 for 7 at lunch. But once the play resumed, India lost three wickets for just six runs as New Zealand cleaned up the tail quickly.

Jadeja tries to flick a Boult ball away from his hip but managed to glove it to BJ Watling, who took a great diving catch.

India finally ended with 217 in the first innings.

Virat Kohli made 44 off 132 balls with one four before he was lbw off a Jamieson ball.

His deputy Ajinkya Rahane scored 49 off 117 balls with five fours. He was the highest scorer for India before he was caught by Tom Latham off Neil Wagner ball.

Rohit Sharma made 34 before he was caught by Tim Southee off Jamieson, and Shubman Gill contributed 28 runs and Cheteshwar Pujara 8 off 54 balls.

When stumps were drawn on day three, New Zealand had amassed 101 runs for two in 49 overs at CRR of 2.06.

Tom Latham made 30 in 104 balls with three fours before he was caught by Virat Kohli off Ravichandran Ashwin.

Devon Conway made 54 off 153 balls with six fours before he was caught by Mohammad Shami off Ishant Sharma.

Skipper Kane Williamson on 12 of 37 balls and Ross Taylor on zero in two balls were at the crease when the stumps were drawn on day three.

Play was briefly suspended during the New Zealand innings also due to rain.

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.