Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


ICC WTC final Day 4: Rain, rain everywhere, and not a ball to play

Rain playing spoilsport on day four of the ICC WTC final between India and New Zealand on June 21, 2021. Photo: @ICC/Twitter

Southampton, June 21 (MNN) Rain gods again played the spoilsports on Day 4 of the ICC World Test Championship final as not even a single ball could  be bowled as wet weather was reported in the city since Monday morning.

The International Cricket Council in the evening tweeted that day four’s play has been abandoned due to persistent rain.

The first day of the match on June 18 was totally washed out by rain while other days have been disrupted either by rain or bad light.

Monday’s washout means that the match will extend into the designated reserve day of June 23, if required.

Weather forecast for the fifth and potential sixth days of the Test has significantly improved. An announcement on the reserve day will be made during Tuesday’s play.

India had scored 217 in their first innings, adding 65 runs in the first session of day three to their overnight score of 146 for three but lost four wickets in the process, in the ICC WTC final against New Zealand which dominated the session.

Their innings finally wrapped up at a modest 217 as Kyle Jamieson proved the wrecker-in-chief with a five-wicket haul for 31 runs. Trent Boult and Neil Wagner bagged two wickets each. Tim Southee got one.

When stumps were drawn on day three, New Zealand had amassed 101 runs for two in 49 overs at CRR of 2.06.

Tom Latham made 30 in 104 balls with three fours before he was caught by Virat Kohli off Ravichandran Ashwin.

Devon Conway made 54 off 153 balls with six fours before he was caught by Mohammad Shami off Ishant Sharma.

Skipper Kane Williamson on 12 of 37 balls and Ross Taylor on zero in two balls were at the crease when the stumps were drawn on day three.

Play was briefly suspended during the New Zealand innings also due to rain on Sunday.

Brief scores:

India 217 in 92.1 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 49, Virat Kohli 44; Kyle Jamieson 5/31, Neil Wagner 2/40)

New Zealand 101/2 in 49 overs (Devon Conway 54, Tom Latham 30; Ishant Sharma 1-19)

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.