Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Prithvi, Suryakumar gain entry in India squad ahead of Test series in England

Photo: BCCI

Mumbai, July 26 (MNN) The BCCI on Monday announced Prithvi Shaw and Suryakumar Yadav as replacements for players who won’t be able to continue India’s tour of England, with all-rounder Washington Sundar, pacer Avesh Khan and opener Shubham Gill ruled out due to injuries.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant has recovered from COVID-19 and returned two negative RT-PCR tests. He has begun preparations for the upcoming Test series after clearance from the BCCI medical team.

Bowling coach B Arun, Wriddhiman Saha and Abhimanyu Easwaran have also completed their self-isolation in London and have joined Team India in Durham.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Prithvi and Suryakumar as replacements in the team.

“Sundar took an injection on his right-hand bowling finger. However, his recovery will take longer than expected and he is not bowling-fit. He is ruled out of the remainder of the tour,” the Board of Control for Cricket said.

Fast bowler Avesh Khan suffered a blow to his left thumb on Day 1 of the warm-up game, suffering a fracture. Consultation with a specialist ruled him out of India’s tour.

Opening batsman Shubman Gill sustained a developing stress reaction on his left lower leg (shin) during the World Test Championship final, which was confirmed via an MRI scan. He is since returned to India.

On July 21, England had announced a 17-member squad for the first two Tests against India, starting from August 4 at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

The home side will see the return of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Johnny Bairstow and Sam Curran to the longest format of the game.

Stokes had to miss the two-match Test series versus New Zealand due to injury but had made a comeback to international action as a captain in the ODI series against Pakistan.

Right-arm pacer Ollie Robinson, who made his Test debut in the New Zealand series has also been included alongside Haseeb Hameed.

The big names to not feature in the first couple of Tests are Jofra Archer and Chris Woakes who are still recovering from an injured elbow and a bruised heel respectively.

Archer has made progress with the injury but his return to Test cricket still remains uncertain, however, is expected to be available later in the series.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.