Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru added to EU list of countries to lift travel restrictions

The Council of European Union. Photo: @EUCouncil/Twitter

Brussels, Oct 29 (MNN) Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru were added an EU list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted.

The move by the European Union Council to update its list follows a review of recommendation on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into certain countries.

“Non-essential travel to the EU from countries or entities not listed in Annex I is subject to temporary travel restriction.

“This is without prejudice to the possibility for member-states to lift the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travellers.

“As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated,” the Council said on Friday.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from October 28, 2021 member-states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao, the Council said.

Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognised as states by at least one member state, travel restrictions for Taiwan should also be gradually lifted, the Council recommended.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on May 20, 2021. They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case by case basis.

Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.