Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


EU Council adds Indonesia to list of countries for lifting travel curbs

The Council of European Union. Photo: @EUCouncil/Twitter

Geneva, Nov 18 (MNN) The EU Council said on Thursday that it has added Indonesia to the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted.

This follows a review of recommendation on gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the European Union due to coronavirus pandemic.

“Non-essential travel to the EU from countries or entities not listed in Annex I is subject to temporary travel restriction. This is without prejudice to the possibility for member-states to lift the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travellers,” the Council said.

As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from November 18, 2021 member- states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Jordan, Kuwait, Namibia, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

The Council said that travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao.

“Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognised as states by at least one member-state, travel restrictions for Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

“Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.”

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on May 20, 2021.

They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case-by-case basis.

Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.