Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Indians strike rich haul of 47 medals in Uganda Para Badminton

Photo: BAI

Kampala, Nov 21 (MNN) Indian shuttlers, including Tokyo Paralympic champion Pramod Bhagat, won a whopping 47 medals at the Uganda Para Badminton International 2021 that concluded here on Sunday.

India won 16 gold, 14 silver and 17 bronze at the five-day tournament in the Ugandan capital.

Tokyo 2020 Paralympic bronze medal winner Manoj Sarkar and reigning para world badminton champion Manasi Joshi won the gold medal in the men’s singles and women’s singles SL3 categories respectively.

Palak Kohli, Abu Hubaida and Ammu Mohan, meanwhile, won two gold medals each in the singles and doubles. The trio also won a silver medal each; Palak Kohli and Ammu Mohan in the mixed doubles while Abu Hubaida won in the men’s doubles.

World number 1 Pramod Bhagat, meanwhile, featured in three finals but settled for silver medals. He lost the men’s singles SL3 final 21-19, 21-16 to Manoj Sarkar.

Pramod and Sarkar, both Tokyo 2020 medallists, teamed up in the men’s doubles but lost the final 10-21 22-20 21-15 to fellow Indians Mohammad Arwaz Ansari and Deep Ranjan Bisoyee.

Six medals, including three golds, came in exhibition mixed doubles where players from different countries were paired together.

More than 130 badminton players competed in the tournament.

Indian medal winners

Gold medallists

Manoj Sarkar – men’s singles SL3

Sukant Kadam – men’s singles SL4

Hardik Makkar – men’s singles SU5

Abu Hubaida – men’s singles WH2

Dhinagaran – men’s singles SH6

Palak Kohli – women’s singles SU5

Manasi Joshi – women’s singles SL3

Jyoti – women’s singles SL4

Ammu Mohan – women’s singles WH2

Arwaz Ansari and Deep Ranjan – men’s doubles SL3-SL4

Chirag Baretha and Raj Kumar – men’s doubles SU5

Palak Kohli and Mandeep Kaur – women’s doubles SL3-SU5

Ammu Mohan and Shaimaa Samy Abdellatif (Egypt) – exhibition women’s doubles WH1-WH2

Manasi Joshi and Ruthick – mixed doubles SL3-SU5

Abu Hubaida and Shaimaa Samy Abdellatif (Egypt) – exhibition mixed doubles WH1-WH2

Sivarajan Solaimalai and Faycal Bensenouci (Algeria) – exhibition mixed doubles SH6

Silver medallists

Pramod Bhagat – men’s singles SL3

Nilesh Gaikwad – men’s singles SL4

Chirag Baretha – men’s singles SU5

Sanjeev Kumar – men’s singles WH2

Sivarajan – men’s singles SH6

Santhiya V – women’s singles SU5

Parul Parmar – women’s singles SL3

Pramod Bhagat and Manoj Sarkar – men’s doubles SL3-SL4

Ruthick and Karan – men’s doubles SU5

Prem Ale and Abu Hubaida – men’s doubles WH1-WH2

Parul Parmar and Vaishali Patel – women’s doubles SL3-SU5

Palak Kohli and Pramod Bhagat – mixed doubles SL3-SU5

Shashank Kumar and Ammu Mohan – mixed doubles WH1-WH2

Dhinagaran Pandurangan and Chia Carine Yapi (Ivory Coast) – exhibition mixed doubles SH6

Bronze medallists

Nitesh Kumar – men’s singles SL3

Umesh Vikram – men’s singles SL3

Dev Rathi – men’s singles SU5

Ruthick – men’s singles SU5

Prem Ale – men’s singles WH1

Arati Patil – women’s singles SU5

Mandeep Kaur – women’s singles SL3

Charanjeet Kaur – women’s singles SL3

Sukant and Nitesh – men’s doubles SL3-SL4

Umesh Vikram and Prem Kumar – men’s doubles SL3-SL4

Sumith Garg and Hardik Makkar – men’s doubles SU5

Charanjeet and Jyoti – women’s doubles SL3-SU5

Manasi and Santhiya – women’s doubles SL3-SU5

Rajkumar and Parul – mixed doubles SL3-SU5

Karan and Amudha – mixed doubles SL3-SU5

Shahajan Bulbul and Stellah Jongwe (Zimbabwe) – exhibition mixed doubles WH1-WH2

Neeraj Kumar Sreenivasan and Akosua Ampofowaa (Ghana) – exhibition mixed doubles WH1-WH2

You May Also Like


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores.


Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt.