Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Women’s Asia Cup 2022 hockey shifted from Thailand to Oman

Women's Asia Cup 2022.
India women's hockey. Photo: IOC

Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Dec 30 (MNN) Women’s Asia Cup 2022 will now be held in Muscat in Oman from January 21 to 28 instead of Bangkok in Thailand, the Asian Hockey Federation said.

Oman will host the tournament for the first time.

This will be the Indian women’s hockey team’s first real test since finishing fourth at the Tokyo Olympics in August.

Earlier this month, the team had to withdraw from the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy after a player tested positive for COVID-19.

The Rani Rampal-led side are the current Asian champions. India won their second title in 2017, defeating China 5-4 in a shootout after regulation time ended 1-1.

South Korea, with three titles, are the most successful team in the women’s Asia Cup.

The top eight teams of Asia – India, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore – along with hosts Oman, will vie for the Women’s Asia Cup 2022 title at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat.

The competition will be played in a two-pool format with cross-over classification matches.

The top four teams of the tournament will qualify for the FIH Women’s World Cup 2022 to be held in Spain and the Netherlands from July 1 to 17, after the World Cup qualifiers were scrapped due to COVID-19.

Hockey India names 60 players for senior women’s national camp

You May Also Like


Paarl (South Africa), Jan 21 (MNN) South Africa eased to a comfortable seven-wicket victory in second ODI against India here on Friday to register...


Paris, Jan 21 (MNN) European Health Ministers will meet on Friday via videoconference to discuss sharing of best practices for managing coronavirus crisis, as...


Chandigarh, Jan 13 (MNN) Ever since the Model Code of Conduct has came into force with the announcement of Punjab Assembly elections, enforcement officials...


Tarouba (Trinidad and Tobago), Jan 20 (MNN) India players Siddharth Yadav and wicket-keeper batsman Aardhya Yadav are among four players who have tested positive...