Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Indian men’s team national camp to start in Bengaluru from January 3

Hockey India.
Photo: Hockey India

Bengaluru, Dec 31 (MNN) Hockey India has announced a list of 60 players for the men’s national camp starting here from January 3.

The players were shortlisted on the basis of their performances at the senior and junior national championships. The performances at domestic events sanctioned by Hockey India were also considered.

Players who were a part of the previous senior and junior core groups were judged on their performances at the international tournaments.

Indian men’s hockey team chief coach Graham Reid, under whom the team won its first Olympic medal (bronze) in 41 years, said that the established players will have to prove themselves at the camp at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) centre in the city to ensure they are retained in the final list.

“We are already in the new Olympic cycle now, so everything starts from zero. It’s really important to move ahead and start afresh,” Reid said.

The Hockey India list will be further pruned down to 33 players ahead of the FIH Pro League 2022 matches starting in February.

The FIH Pro League, which concludes in June, will be followed by the Commonwealth Games 2022 in July-August and Asian Games 2022 in September.

Reid said that it will be crucial for India to have a strong pool of 33 ahead of a challenging 2022 season.

National camp participants:
Goalkeepers: Sreejesh P.R, Krishan B Pathak, Suraj Karkera, Prashant Kumar Chauhan, Pawan, Kamalbir Singh, Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Ayush Dwivedi

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, Mandeep Mor, Sanjay, Yashdeep Siwach, Dinachandra Singh Moirangthem, Abhisek Lakra, Manjeet, Mohd Faraz, Parampreet Singh

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Hardik Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem, Mareeswaran Sakthivel, Biju Ekka, Sheshe Gowda B M, Ashis Kumar Topno, Jugraj Singh, Bharath K R, Likhith BM, Keshav Tyagi, Sushil Dhanwar

Forwards: Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Akashdeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Dilpreet Singh, Maninder Singh, S. Karthi, Prabhjot Singh, Pardeep Singh, Abhishek, Abharan Sudev, Mohd. Raheel, Sukhjeet Singh, Pawan Rajbhar, Mohd Umar

Women’s Asia Cup 2022 hockey shifted from Thailand to Oman

Hockey India names 60 players for senior women’s national camp

You May Also Like


Kandy, Jan 22 (MNN) Sri Lanka turned up the pressure to beat Zimbabwe by 185 runs in the third and final ODI here on...


Paarl (South Africa), Jan 21 (MNN) South Africa eased to a comfortable seven-wicket victory in second ODI against India here on Friday to register...


Paris, Jan 21 (MNN) European Health Ministers will meet on Friday via videoconference to discuss sharing of best practices for managing coronavirus crisis, as...


Adelaide, Jan 22 (MNN) Only 4.1 overs were possible in the second women’s Ashes T20I match at Adelaide Oval as relentless rain led to...